I gave up booze even though I’m not an alcoholic

I don’t remember the last time I drank, but I sure don’t miss how it made me feel! It was like all of the sudden I couldn’t handle any amount of alcohol. After having covid I started to get super sick whenever I drank. I would feel weird halfway through one drink but for some reason I’d keep trying. Then the next day I would be so dizzy and feel like I drank 10 drinks.

I was sad because I love the connection of having drinks with friends or to celebrate, but it’s not worth it for me. And I definitely have an addictive personality, so I knew it could be a problem. There were definitely times I overdid it & would use it to numb or escape. I normally wouldn’t want just one drink. And then I’d pay for it the next day even if I only had two drinks. And the kids don’t care if I don’t feel good 😂 I remember waking up hungover more mornings than I’d like to admit & still have to take care of little kids. Which I do not recommend 🫠

The majority of the last few years I would just drink socially and moderately. So I don’t feel the need to have a major problem with alcohol for it to still be a problem and be better without.

I kept getting stuck in the feeling that I wouldn’t be as fun if I didn’t drink. Or that people would think I was judging them for drinking. Which I absolutely don’t because I do think some people can have a healthy relationship with alcohol. And it doesn’t matter what other people think about it. It’s a decision I’m owning & feel really good about.

Now there are so many non alcoholic options & you can absolutely have just as much fun without it. I mostly just like pretty fizzy drinks anyway. And if I’m hanging out with people, I don’t need a drink to be able to let loose and enjoy myself. I used to be very insecure and felt like I needed a drink to help me talk or be comfortable & enjoy myself at parties. But really I’d wake up & critique every single thing I did or said. And let’s be honest, I don’t even go to parties anymore & pretty much everyone we hangout with don’t drink either. So that helps!

If you’re in this space where you don’t feel like you had a huge problem, but still wanted to quit alcohol since you really just don’t see it benefiting you anymore, you aren’t alone 💕 or if you’ve been feeling the way I felt, I encourage you to at least try giving it up to see how you feel. I didn’t set off thinking I’d never drink again, but that’s where I’m at right now.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started